Keep your backup lean! Clean up.

Langmeier Backup, by default, creates steady backups of all changed data and all new data added to external hard drives. Now the question is, why doesn't it delete the files from the backup if they have been deleted on the computer?

The reason is obvious, because if all deleted files on the backup would be removed immediately: then what happens if the user deletes a file once by mistake? Therefore, it already makes sense how Langmeier Backup does it by default.

Now there is the menu item "Cleanup" and there "Remove deleted files". If you like, you can run this cleanup from time to time to bring the backup to a "clean state". But this manual cleanup only works for those who have not turned off the option „Create complete folder structure“. So the $ sign must be in the backup path, otherwise it won't work.

Whoever has configured Langmeier Backup differently can still perform the cleanup, namely by simply creating a backup and selecting „Synchronize“ as the backup type in the "Settings for current job" window under "Quick configuration" beforehand. Then, when starting the backup, all previously deleted files will be removed from the backup in no time. But caution is advised, because with this function there is no query for the files to be deleted.

About the Author , Founder and CEO of Langmeier Software GmbH
Urs Langmeier Urs Langmeier is founder and CEO of Langmeier Software GmbH and thus responsible for the strategic further development of Langmeier software solutions.
 

Further lookup: Backup, Backup

Articles relevant to the topic
Langmeier Backup Version 10 is here
FAT32 or NTFS? Which format is better for backup?
How to back up your hard drive properly and not forget anything


Post a comment here...

This article covers:
Clean Up Backup
Clean Up Server Backup
Clean Up Back Up
Interesting:
Langmeier Backup
What is a backup
Image Backup
Backup Server